Reviews - Cumberland Hotel

Summary
4.4

Just what we needed - Rating 5/5

We (one parent with two adult children) needed a safe and affordable place to stay not too far from the city centre (Hamilton at the Fetival Theatre!). The Cumberland Hotel turned out to be not only that, but also very friendly, comfortable and clean. Knowing driving and parking in Edinburgh can be problematic, we took two buses from Dumfries. The bus from Glasgow (our second bus) drives past the hotel and stops at Haymarket. Haymarket has nice cafés, and buses, trains and trams to take you to the city centre - though we walked everywhere (about 30-45 minutes to the centre). As a bonus they let us leave our suitcase in the lounge after we'd checked out, so we could do some more suitcase-free exploring before heading home again.

Reviewer: Eva| Fri 5th Apr 2024 | 10 hours ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

The room, the bed, the bathroom and the english breakfast

Reviewer: Daniele T | Thu 4th Apr 2024 | 1 day ago


Edinburgh..Cumberland Hotel- Rating 5/5

Great hotel. Lovely stay.Fantastic staff.Lovely room and building.Good choice of whiskey at the bar.Breakfast was amazing.Worth staying here.Good value for money.

Reviewer: Elwyn| Sat 30th Mar 2024 | 6 days ago


Huge Thanks 😊- Rating 5/5

I would like to say a huge thank you to Adam and the team for looking after us so well on our visit, you are all fabulous. The breakfast was lovely and kept us going throughout the day. The room that we had was a bit of a trek, 46 stairs and no lift, but was clean with comfy beds. The hotel is also really well situated, about a mile from Edinburgh Zoo and on a good bus route for travel into the city centre. I would definitely go back if I were to return to Edinburgh.

Reviewer: Julie M | Fri 29th Mar 2024 | 1 week ago


Excelente - Rating 5/5

Excelenteubicacioncontransporte a aeropuertoiday vueltaa escasosmetros.. personal muy amable..habitacion amplia .bien iluminaday limpia..muyrecomendable

Reviewer: Nelsa | Fri 29th Mar 2024 | 1 week ago


It was very enjoyable - Rating 5/5

Nice size room. Amenities good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location

Reviewer: Trynie C | Mon 25th Mar 2024 | 1 week ago


Comfort, convenience, and excellent customer service - Rating 5/5

My 4 night stay in this charming b&b / hotel was just what I wanted. The room was clean and quiet with a great view. The staff was very helpful; assisting me with transport and dining advice. And last but not least, the continental breakfast was delicious.

Reviewer: Jane | Mon 25th Mar 2024 | 1 week ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel. Staff were great. Room was a good size and very clean. Breakfast was also nice.

Reviewer: Robert| Sun 24th Mar 2024 | 1 week ago


Reasonably priced. - Rating 4/5

The rooms are clean, the staff are friendly.The cooked breakfast is ok.The continental breakfast is spoiled by the cheap, wrapped slices of processed cheese and the cheap reformed ham slices.The coffee is weak and the ‘pastries’ are not quite pastries.These complaints asidethis was my eighth stay in two years so it can’t be too bad.

Reviewer: Liam S | Fri 22nd Mar 2024 | 2 weeks ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent friendly staff, good breakfast and a nice clean room, and a nice clean hotrl

Reviewer: Warren| Sun 17th Mar 2024 | 2 weeks ago